On New Years Eve I was going to a friends house party and this is one of the conversations that occurred:
Friend: I made us Jello Shots... we have to do some tonight
Me: umm... I am a vegetarian, I don't eat Jello
Me: Because of the Gelatin
Friend: O right Gelatin is Whale right?
Me: no no... Its usually pig bone
friend: Its not like your Kosher or anything
Me:Right... I AM A VEGETARIAN
Friend: But it isnt the meat!
Me: Yes... but they still have to kill the animal.....
and let me tell you.. she spent the entire night going around asking friends if they knew that Gelatin was NOT from Whale... needless to say this VERY smart girl got a lot of head shaking